dfb24

By dfb24

A Walk on the Wild Side

I got up this morning expecting snow, but it was only heavy rain and wind. As I sat with my morning cup of coffee, looking out the window, I was thinking how I've often heard that when the conditions are right--high winds coming out of the NorthEast, as they were today-- that huge waves form on Lake Michigan and can crash into shore in the areas that aren't protected by the outer harbor. I had a second cup of coffee as I tried to decide if it was worth it to get cold and wet or not, and decided I'd go. Tom nobly offered to come with me, so we headed just North of the Milwaukee Yacht Club, and what a treat when we (like about 12 other cars full of people) got there. The waves were crashing over the walkway--in summer, you can stroll along it out into the harbor. Lake Michigan was putting on an impressive display, and I forgot all about the wind and rain as I was taking photos. I've put another of the waves in the extras, along with a collage that I think is appropriate to call a "Wisconsin Car Wash"!  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.