Color...

...todays' theme for AbstractThursday. Thanks to Ingeborg for her choice of theme and for hosting. What a cold, dull and dreary day it was today. By 2:00 it was getting dark, looking more like it was 5:00! I stopped at the park this morning but didn't stay long--too cold, and nothing at all was colorful! This is the only shot I took because I liked the look of the concrete brick submerged in the water, but how to give it a little color? I ended up using a "glowing edges" filter, and adjusted the sliders until I saw something I liked. (I've put the original in the extras so you can see how badly it needed SOMETHING to give it a boost). Tom and I went to see my aunt today & as always we had a great visit. We laughed so hard, as she was telling us that when she was young, my grandpa would take her, my mom & my 2 uncles over to the park and drop them off so they could ice skate all day...he'd come back in the evening to get them. My aunt said every time he'd come to get them she'd complain that she hated the cold and being outside.....my grandpa told her it was good for them to be outside and get exercise. Then she complained to him because her ice skates had big holes in both toes. (They'd belonged to one of her aunts, and when her aunt bought new ones the old ones were given to her). My grandpa calmly told her they didn't have money to buy her new ones and to be grateful she had them. But she said the corker was when one of their OTHER aunts gave my mom her old skates, as the aunt had decided she didn't like the fit.....only that pair was almost like new. My aunt wanted my mom to give them to HER since she was the oldest, and my mom should take the ones with the holes. My mom refused and they got in an argument. My grandpa never said a word......and the next Saturday they were all loaded up in the car, taken to the park, and as they got out, my grandpa told her to leave the skates in the car since they weren't good enough to wear. My aunt said for just a few seconds she'd thought he'd gotten her a new pair, but then realized there weren't any new ones. My aunt said "Well, how am I supposed to skate"?  And my grandpa said "exactly!", closed the door of the car and drove off with the skates. My aunt said it was torture to watch her sister and brothers skating around while she had to stand there all day just watching & freezing.......she said she never complained about them again! :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.