Ingleman

By Ingleman

Revival

I had three moments which were strong contenders for today's blip.
One was the ground level view, looking up at Victoria Hall, a high rise development purpose built for student accommodation and Wolverhampton's tallest building. (see High Aspiration-- 3rd November.)
Second was a gentlemen on a bicycle who stopped to chat, and I had an absorbing conversation about all manner of things including flora and fauna. Turns out he is a professional botanist and the most interesting man I have spoken to in a very long time.
Third, and blipped, is the utterly wonderful Springfield Brewery, Cambridge Street, Wolverhampton. A 12 acre site and once the largest of numerous breweries in Wolverhampton, it became desperately derelict and ruinous over a period of 20 years and had a very uncertain future. Grade ll listed, it needed to be saved. And it has. Largely taken over by Wolverhampton University the site has been subject to a massive and hugely expensive revival. I could go on, but I would need more time and space than I have. Needless to say it is an astonishing, and uplifting repurposing of some truly historic and priceless  buildings. For more info there are numerous sites online and a plethora of images, before and after. I feel good! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.