Not a day to go out!

Not a great day today - cold, dark and wet. I've only been out to fill up the bird feeders and I had to dress up to do that!
 
I wrote a letter about Loch Lomond to the (Glasgow) Herald - there have been a few letters so far about the development I Blipped a couple of days ago. We're hoping that the Scottish Government will reverse the decision of the National Park Authority and not allow the building to go ahead, not there anyway.
 
Bit of an emergency Blip today – one of my overloaded bookcases I’m afraid! You can never go wrong with a book!
 
One of the books which I’ve probably had for the longest, since I was a teenager maybe, is ‘The Kon-Tiki Expedition’. I’ve read it many times, most recently earlier this year. For those who haven’t read it (yet), it’s the story of Norwegian explorer Thor Heyerdahl and five others who built a balsa wood raft in 1948 and sailed it across the Pacific Ocean from Peru to the Polynesian Islands in a bid to prove that those islands were populated from South America. Most scientists now believe that his theory was wrong, but at least it proved that a balsa raft could have made the journey.
 
I rarely watch films during the day, but I made an exception today to watch the original film taken on the voyage and edited into a documentary in 1950. It was quite amazing, as I knew the story so well but had never seen any of the filming. Well worth staying dry for! I snapped a scene of the Kon-Tiki stranded on the island at the end of the 4,300 mile journey and put it on as an extra.
 
Quote of the Day:

Thor Heyerdahl – “. . . . arranging the journey was so difficult. Getting home again was so much easier."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.