An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Seeing squares...

Secret project revealed!

At the end of October I decided my brain needed a new challenge and decided to teach myself to crochet.

I've never done it before but have thought about giving it a go a few times then talked myself out of it thinking it may inflame the already painful joints in my hands.  

This time the urge was too strong to resist, so at the beginning of November following advice from wonderful crocheters (amongst other things :-) Withers and Trisha and a wade through some YouTube tutorials, I ordered crochet hooks and some yarn and set about learning the different crochet stitches.  I was quickly hooked!  (please pardon the pun :-)

A week or two of crocheting small things passed and a wee thought crept into my head...time for a crochet challenge.  And so the idea of making a Granny Square blanket for Esme to snuggle under on the sofa whilst watching tv was born.  

I started on 25th November so it's taken me just over two weeks to complete.  I thought it would take longer but it really has been quite addictive (as evidenced by my lack of commenting on here!  Sorry :-)  

There are a few mistakes here and there but I learned that in Irish crochet superstition it's said that you leave a bit of your soul trapped in everything you crochet. To avoid this, you should always work in a hidden mistake so that your soul can escape. Well on that basis my soul is well and truly free! :-)

I didn't tell Esme's mum Nikki about the blanket incase it ended up a disaster and I was too embarrassed to give it to her so I'm going to keep it as a surprise and give it to her as an extra Christmas pressie.  

I already have the yarn for my next project and my eye on more for the next one...told you it's addictive!

And the good news is, although the joints in my hands still ache, crocheting  has proved to be a bit of a work out for my fingers, which have become more nimble than they've been in many a year.  It's a win!  

All that's left is for me to wash it.  Gulp!  It may yet end up as a coaster or a bedcover for our new supering size bed (ordered this week!  :-)  Watch this space!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.