Windmill 'De Zwaan', Vinkel

'De Zwaan' = 'the Swan' ... pretty name!  We're still in the province of Noord Brabant, and this is my 50TH MILL!  I did want to catch at least 50 before the end of the year.  I've tagged the location for anyone interested.

All 50 = https://www.blipfoto.com/search/entries?q=%23windmillhunting2020ellaphant

This mill is actually very new -- it was inaugurated only last September!  My first ever brand-new windmill!  And to think it opened to the public in this COVID-19 period... amazing.  The original mill was located somewhere else, and then, unbelievable, was shipped, brick by numbered brick, all the way to Holland, Michigan, to the Dutch immigrant community there.  So if anyone ever visits that area, you'll know that that mill came from Vinkel.

Can you see the miller and his wife furling the canvas on the vanes?  I had to walk through an ex-cow-patty field, now overgrown with grass, to take my shots.  When he spotted me, he gave me the thumbs-up.  It's not always that I get to meet the miller, whether or not we exchange a word.

A much better day!  But I knew the sun was bound to show up sometime.  Some housework, then left at about 14.00, way in time for this.  I was back at around 16.10 or thereabouts, and some two minutes later AW pulled onto our driveway.  Fabulous timing!  Not only that.  He brought along a vacuum cleaner, the portable type, because the person he visits got it as a gift and didn't want it, so waited for a decent period of time before giving it away.  I had to laugh about that as I do the exact same thing, although not with vacuum cleaners.

The last MOOC done, 7 weeks in two days because the week lectures were short and few per week, which means I will now have time for other things.  Studying has helped me kill any potential iota of boredom this year but has also done a lot towards reducing stress levels.  Now that the year is almost done, I look forward to a bit more real relaxation.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.