Light Reading

It was quite a nice day today, well this morning was, it turned a little this afternoon but that didn't stop us exploring another village, this time Todenham in Gloucestershire just south of Shipston-on-Stour. Quite a bit of the village is listed and this Wikipedia article goes into great detail about the village. 


Outside the church, St Thomas a Becket, stands a K6 telephone kiosk which has been converted into a book depository, see extra.  This is also listed, see here.

Today is Mono Monday, hosted by carolinav, the theme 'portrait of someone you admire, or a family pet'.   Well it goes without saying that Ann is the pinnacle of people I admire, if only for putting up with me amongst a raft of other reasons.  Since Dylan died we don't have a family pet and Ann was not in the mood to have her photo taken.

So this is a portrait of Charles Dickens on my Kindle, an author I greatly admire for his approachable literature and social comments on 19th century Britain.  I'm not sure how I would have managed without my Kindle.  Not being able to browse the charity shops book shelves I'd be lost without something to read.  With my e-reader I can line up enough books to keep me happy, and of course there's always some Charles Dickens to read or reread.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.