gingerbread house

The elephant is playing with a gingerbread house ornament. It is paper and folds flat which makes it perfect for storage. 

It rained all day. Wednesday it will snow all day. Next week it will be warm again. 

I had a conversation with my employee about what she would want in the office post-Covid. Like me she wanted a definition of what post-Covid meant. It was fascinating. Most of us will come out of this with residual trauma. She pointed out that it isn't just the office, it is getting to work on public transportation. I asked if she had the vaccine did she care and it was interesting to watch the logic fight with the emotion - because it will take a while, even vaccinated - before we feel safe. And Lord help the fool who comes to work sick, coughing. I tried to emulate my boss and express appreciation for her open, emotionally honest communication. I can grow. 

The day ended with a great conversation with a man in Australia. We were discussing a potential project in an island nation near him and he very, very politely told us about the "possibly inaccurate" assumptions underlying the project concept. Everything he said made excellent sense. We have an intern who was part of the call and he was astounded when I said, afterwards, that maybe we would not bid on the project because we might feel there was too much performance risk. He was impressed, but surprised, because we are a for-profit company. I explained that part of our go-no-go decision-making form included writing an explanation of how a project could help bring about the Sustainable Development Goals (which suitably impressed him, which was my objective) and that another part asks about performance risk.  (Fine, I was showing off. He is just so cynical, I had to try.)

I watched electors vote. Who would have ever guessed that one day I would voluntarily watch electors vote and listen to their speeches and be happy doing so. It was positively peaceful. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.