pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

In the rain

Back on 5 December 2015 after raining almost non-stop for what seemed like weeks in the run-up, Storm Desmond unleashed a soggy hell upon Cumbria from which some areas still haven’t quite fully recovered.

Following the incessant rain of recent days, I was wondering if history was about to repeat itself as there seemed to be a familiar feeling in the air, however, whilst the river is a little swollen it is nothing to rival that horrible day in 2015.

With the familiar post-return of children low kicking in and me kicking myself for my lack of patience for their over exuberance, I punished myself with a deeply unpleasant run in the driving rain, followed by a spot of Christmas shopping retail therapy in town.

Feeling much better already, the afternoon drifted by uneventfully and I had a piano lesson for the first time in weeks. I’m glad I did, because I was starting to lose a bit of interest in it, but infected with my piano teacher’s enthusiasm and encouragement, I’m sticking with it and will learn how to play.

The Hamilton tunes will have to Wait For It, as I need to accept that I have to walk before I can run and that mastery of my instrument (stop sniggering at the back) will only come with practice.

Also, I got another sloth sticker and a “good effort” for my faltering rendition of Singing in the Rain which seemed quite apt.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.