Cutting out!

A friend and her husband dropped by the house to deliver a Christmas card. I noticed her out of the window as she was going back up the steps so I rushed out to thank her, as she got back in the car. I wanted to tell her about my brother as the last time I saw her was in town when he was in hospital. Barry came out to chat with her husband and we ended up spending about forty minutes chatting, her sat in the car and me standing in the cold, without a coat of course!  I didn't mind as it was lovely to catch up. We have the same interests in all things crafty! She has recently invested in an overlocker, an early Christmas present from her husband, so I was interested in hearing how she was getting on with it. It appears very well and  and she spent some time telling me how much I would love one! They had to move on when the Tesco man arrived with the grocery shopping as they were in his parking place! 
After all shopping was safely gathered into its respective space I sat down with a hot drink to recover from the cold outside.
I hadn't planned to do much today as I'd only had about four hours sleep having been up with Reggie, who has had a bad ear and was grumbling quite a lot of the night. He, of course, slept like a baby for most of the day!
I had made all my cards to be posted but hadn't done any for neighbours and friends to be hand delivered. Hence the cutting out. They will be simple but hopefully effective when they are assembled tomorrow. 
Mum's new SIM card didn't arrive but she told me that recently they were informed that the postman wouldn't be delivering to their address one day a week! Is that a thing now?
Barry has now moved into the sewing room with his underfloor insulation, I can't bear to look! I'm hoping after I return from London next week it will be finished and I can settle to some me time in there, after all the trials and tribulations of the previous month.
Late afternoon my SIL sent over a copy of the service for my brother, along with all the photos and an amazing poem to be read. Seemed to make it all real and I had a few tears. Not helped by my lack of sleep. I think it will be a lovely tribute and send off for Mike.
Dinner was leftover vegetable stew from the previous night, so simple and no thought required, which was just as well as I was flagging by then.
Early bed for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.