Christmas display.

I went into Sutton Coldfield in the car this morning for an early appointment at the chiropodist’s. The car park by the station was practically empty when I arrived. It was only about a third full when I left later.The small, partly covered, shopping mall was almost empty at that time. A handful of people about.
I was the only person in the Lakeland shop where I managed to get Stephen his Christmas present. I was also successful in buying a gift for one of our young friends who calls us her Fake Grandparents! Here’s a link to a photo of her from last December https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2655447076933992978
Most activity around the mall was at the coffee shops. And one or two people were sitting on seats with their takeaway coffees, having a chat.
You cannot go and sit inside with your drink. I bumped into two people I knew and we had a bit of a catch up. So lovely to see them.
One or two more purchases after my appointment and I drove home.
It is now very wet outside so I’m really pleased I had to go out earlier.
The rain is spattering against the window, blown by the blustery wind. It is exceptionally mild outdoors.
I spent all yesterday in the garden, tidying the beds, and raking leaves.
It was such a beautiful day. I am so pleased that I took advantage of it now.
The sun warmed the summerhouse where I took my coffee breaks.
Stephen had several things to do, including a WhatsApp video call in the afternoon with a client on the Bereavement support programme which is run by a local hospice.
I have one last present to wrap which has to go to the States. It isn’t very big, but will require a visit to the post office this afternoon.
Stephen is going up there later in the car, as we may need several more things.
A handful more cards to write, some of them are local so I’ll take them by hand, then that will be finished until next year, when I do wonder how many people will still be sending them, as the price of postage has rocketed recently.
Soon be time for lunch.
I think the Government have got themselves in a pickle over the Christmas amnesty. There were calls for it to be abolished yesterday. I haven’t seen any news today.
It made me think of
The Grinch That Stole Christmas.
And as Stephen said just now
“It’s like having let the genie out of the bottle and it’ll be hard to put it back”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.