New reality day 141

Keeping my spirits up with some crafting.

I as actually making few cork trees to give to M and P from work. They really have been lifesavers (in spirit).

I'm off work tomorrow.

Because my dad has a huge operation tomorrow. I don't think I'll be able to concentrate on anything before I hear from my mum, who will hear from the surgeon. My dad has a birth defect in his heart. Up till around 50 years old, he didn't even know about it, because he did so much running (training for marathons). After that he got by with medication. Now he's at that age that the medicine is not enough anymore, so they'll try to fix the heart or he'll has a spare part (transplant part). It would be better if they were able to fix it, but the other solution should work too.

He'll be at the ICU from 1-3 days and then in the hospital 1-2 weeks depending on his progress and how the surgery went. They actually will do an open heart surgery and open his sternum. So he's not allowed to drive a car for 3 months after the surgery. There must be a lot pain afterwards when the sternum needs to be opened. I can't imagine it. I think we can all count our blessings to live in these modern times when the doctors and surgeons can do these amazing things to save lives and help people to live healthier.

So this is pretty much all I can think about right now. I hope tomorrow evening I can write that the surgery went well and the healing has begun.


The other thing is that we have snow. It's been snowing all day. It was raining during the night. I was listening to it because I could not sleep well last night. I didn't cycle to work, which was good as the weather was really slippery when I came back. For Saturday the forecast is expecting +4, so this snow is shortly lived. And it seems that there won't be more snow before Christmas, so most likely we will have a "Black Christmas".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.