Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Newlands Corner

Last night Luke and Meriel made the most amazing supper - it was a recipe from the latest Roasting Tin cookbook - Indonesian coconut rice with crispy tofu and peanut sambal. I have never eaten tofu much but when it is cooked like this it is utterly delicious! We all enjoyed it so much it is one we would like repeated again.

This morning I met up with three other members of our book club for a walk. We have not seen each other for a while now as our meetings have been on zoom but everyone is getting fed up with zooming so a walk was the perfect choice. It was grey with heavy skies, and after the walk it rained when I was driving home. Xena enjoyed exploring an area she does not usually walk in, but it was very muddy and slippery in parts.

This afternoon I went back to the optician as I am still not happy with my varifocals. I have given it a month now but I find they are not as good as I expect them to be. The lenses have been made up correctly according to the prescription, so the problem could be that the prescription is wrong as it has jumped significantly from my last test. I have to go back next week to have another eye test to check my prescription. When I had my test a few weeks ago it was difficult as the test lenses kept fogging up while I was wearing a mask and I could not see properly, so I won't be surprised if the prescription is incorrect.

I also popped into the supermarket to buy some Christmas food and treats as with 9 days to go the dates are good enough on some items like smoked salmon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.