ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Subterranean Homesick Blues

Last “normal” shopping day before the big Christmas shop next week. Anticipating that it might be busy in town anyway, I just headed straight for the underground car park at M&S as that is usually a bit quieter. Still only a couple of places available though, so lucky to get parked at first attempt. I think people are still taking advantage of the “free” parking at Marks (ticket machines have been covered up since March) to shop elsewhere in town, as the number of people in the store was far less than the number of cars parked outside would suggest.
I mentioned last week that it felt very crowded in M&S and it seems the store felt the same way as they had a queueing system in operation this week, holding people back from entering the food hall if it was getting busy. A much better shopping experience all round and we were able to get everything we wanted without continually having to dodge around other shoppers.
It was only when going to put the shopping in the boot that I noticed the mess on the floor. I’m guessing a previous customer had dropped a pot of mushy peas when loading their car, but at first glance it looked like my car had been violently ill, and I couldn’t resist trying to get a photo of it!
Couldn’t quite get the angle right to replicate what my eyes had seen, and I was getting a few strange looks - not least from the other motorists waiting for our space, who were presumably wondering what was this idiot doing taking photos of the floor behind the car. I think I might have been lynched if I’d stayed there any longer (or moved the car a foot or so to get a better photo) so I decided discretion was the better part of valour and headed for home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.