curns' corner

By curns

Nightmare decoration

The 1993 film, The Nightmare Before Christmas, is my favourite Christmas film and is probably in my Top 5 films of all time. I believe the contrast between Halloween and Christmas - as reflected by story, colour and song - is magical.

There's a fascinating documentary on Netflix about the making of the movie that I watched last week ahead of a plan to see the film in the cinema. That cinema visit was cancelled because of the pandemic but as it's a Christmas tradition of mine to watch it I shall be settling in next weekend to watch it on TV somehow.

Another Christmas tradition is to get a new tree decoration every year. I wish I kept a record of which decoration is from which year - but let this be the record that 2020's new decoration is Jack Skellington, the film's main protagonist and hanging on the tree to sum up 2020: a bit of a nightmare before Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.