Capital adventures

By marchmont

Squelch

It's been a discombobulating kind of day.

The Hive saga continued when I had to phone the bank again as a follow up to yesterday's call in search of the errant cheque. I was told I'd be phoned back by the end of the day but wasn't.  The agent I spoke to this morning was rude, didn't listen and kept talking over me - to save time he said.  But I was the one who'd been on hold for 15 minutes at the start.  I got so frustrated I ended up talking to a manager.  Hasn't found the cheque though, paid in to the PO,  and why couldn't Hive just have done a bank transfer, especially in these times.

Next task was to go to # son's place.  It was such a lovely sunny day I thought I'd cycle.  Got as far as Moredun and realised that I didn't have the key so about turn.  Luckily I'd only gone halfway.  But I was on a time limit so had to set off the second time by car, and forgot that now the straight, fast route is closed so had to go the long way round and navigate the City Fibre installation roadworks. 

That done it was home to decorate the tree.  It's 6 foot but it doesn't look it but compact suits me.  Inevitably one set of lights that worked previously stopped working at the critical moment but I think what I have will do. 

I had to have a break from that to have a Zoom meeting which the lead person forgot about - he'd got engrossed in his garden.  Then back to finishing putting up the decs and starting to wrap the 7 presents. Such a small number. 

Before I'd managed to have tea a phone call meant I had to go down to J's flat.  The neighbour's washing machine had flooded their flat. It was pretty squelchy and still dripping when I got there.  About an hour and loads of towels later I'd mopped up as much as I could and the dripping had stopped, but the electrics went off just for safety.

It was after 9 before I finally ate and managed to sit down and reflect on a day that didn't go at all as I'd planned.  But the sun shone! 

F2F - 3
Phone calls - 7
Virtual - 1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.