Testing The Waters

This morning we paid a visit to Tahunanui Beach to see if it is warm enough to swim.  The verdict was not quite yet.  I like the houses on the hill which must have stunning views.  Also you can see the traffic lined up on Rocks Rd.  This week it is noticeable that traffic is everywhere and crawling along in a queue is common.
Another stop was at the farm shop and they have opened a big bulk food outlet.  Take you own containers to fill or use paper bags.  Here is the link to them if you are interested. GoodFor   There were a lot of flours, sugars, and grains that I didn't recognise.  It will be good when I want to make a special recipe and only want a spoon of chia seeds.  I won't have to buy a big packet from the supermarket.   I am not promising to change my pantry over immediately but it is a concept I support.  It made me think we are going back to how my mother shopped when I was small.  She walked with her basket to the local shop and bought small quantities of staple foods in paper bags.  The bread was unsliced and wrapped in paper.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.