Capital adventures

By marchmont

Flowering cherry

There were phone calls in the middle of the night to update sons #1 and 2.  #2 was upset, about a number of things.  I knew he would be.  But after that I slept better than I have for a while, right through to almost 7.45. And then up to cycle to the pool where it was a really good session, that's because there were only 5 of us and by the end just 1, me!!

Got home to make a couple of phone calls and catch up on this and that.  I seem to have lost 3 days between Monday's meetings, dealing with floods and smoke alarms and sorting out Jan - March '21, not to mention putting up the Christmas decs. So there was quite a lot to catch up on including wondering, as I had done, for a couple of days, why I hadn't put the pressure cooker away.  Turns out it was full of the chicken stock I'd made earlier.  Mmm.  Now there is stock in the freezer and blanquette of chicken (my version) made with the left over meat.

It was a lovely day, though cold so in the afternoon I returned a parcel via a Post Office, without a queue!! And then hand delivered the local cards.  Next door's garden had a real tidy up this morning, I can now see houses previously hidden.  I went out to have a look and ended up doing my own minimal cutting back, and picking flowering roses.  Who'd have thought it, more than half way through December.  And looking up, the flowering cherry is flowering! I hope it doesn't get too confused.

I felt quite virtuous as I cleaned the fridge and even did a minor clean of the oven, very minor.  After tea I sat down to enjoy the NLS webinar with Ian Rankin about his archive now donated to the NLS.  Very enjoyable. 

I fell lie it's been a good day and tomorrow I need to make the shopping list.  Suddenly it's only a week till Christmas.  How did that happen?

F2F - 4
Phone calls - 6
Virtual - 0

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.