New reality day 143

I'm off to work after an hour, so quick blip before that.
I have a long day ahead.

My mum called the ICU this morning. My dad had been waken up this morning. My mum was able to talk to him for a bit. He was still quite groggy. The nurse said that everything is going as expected. So far so good. If nothing unexpected happens, he might be transferred to a normal ward this afternoon. Then he'll be able to use his own phone if he's up to it.

I'm still crying all the time. I hope that when I get to work it will take my mind off all these matters and the day will go faster than yesterday. I have a headache, Possible due after all the tension was released after the phone call yesterday. I always react with a headache and a stomachache.

Every hour with no news is a good thing at the moment.

I only have one day off before Christmas Eve. Sunday. Christmas Eve is the biggest day of the Christmas time in Finland. That's when Santa Claus brings the presents. It's usually after the big family early dinner when the presents appear or are brought by Santa (he starts his journey from his hometown Rovaniemi, in Finland). The smaller the children, the earlier the gifts usually arrive :-)  Our national TV YLE usually follows when Santa starts his journey. Last year when we were in Spain the Spanish broadcasting company also showed during Christmas Eve many times Santa leaving Rovaniemi. That was pretty cool to see.

So "all things Finnish" start with S
Sibelius (composer)
Sauna
Sisu (special word that we have for guts, perseverance and courage)
Santa

(Sibelius, Sauna and Sisu is from a famous Finnish song....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.