ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Guitar Town

There is a small chance that I might actually be able to play at a gig this year - albeit a strictly controlled, time limited, socially distanced, covid regulation compliant gig!
With this in mind, I thought it might be a good idea to have a quick run through some of the proposed numbers so headed over to my friends studio/rehearsal space. A plethora of guitars to choose from, but only one bass. Fortunately, it was similar enough to what I normally play, so no problems there.
Stuart opted for his Dave Gilmour style Strat and we fired up the backing tracks. Amazingly, I remembered a lot more than I thought. Even the tracks we’d not played for several years must have rung faint bells somewhere in the distant recesses of my brain as I was able to pick them up after only a couple of false starts.
It was a very pleasant hour running through a variety of tracks - with varying degrees of proficiency! - and we decided we could probably busk a few more if needs be.
The venue have checked with the council as to exactly what they can and can’t do so, at this moment in time, there is no reason why the gig should not go ahead. Unfortunately, we have no control over whether or not additional restrictions might be imposed next week, which could lead to it all being cancelled. I’m keeping everything crossed and praying there isn’t a massive rise in cases just before Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.