a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Horsie

So this is a boring EB which will only have interest to guitar playing geeks, feel free to move on quickly if that is not you ;-)

...tumble weed blows through Sheol's journal....

Back in the very early noughties I bought a guitar overdrive pedal called a Klon.  They were hand made and not cheap at the time, although only boutique guitar pedal expensive, not silly money.  In the intervening period the chap making them stopped making them, and a host of famous guitarists started using them.  People like Jeff Beck, Joe Perry, John Mayer, Peter Frampton etc all use one. The inevitable result was that, as the years passed, the pedal rose in value, so much so that it started to be too valuable for me to take out of the house and actually use in public.  I recently sold it for really silly money for what is only a guitar pedal.  I sort of wish I had somehow managed to buy a garage full of the things.

But this does of course leave me with a Klon shaped a hole on my pedal board.  This wonderful tiny pedal made by a chap in Barcelona is the answer: the Decibelics Golden Horse.  It is unashamedly a complete clone of a Klon at a fraction of the current value of a real Klon.  There are any number of Klon clones on the market - for obvious reasons - I've auditioned a few over the years but this one sounds so like a Klon that I can't tell the difference.  Currently I think it is the most accurate replica that there is.  What is more, if lockdown ever ends such that live music is safe and possible, I won't be afraid to take it out with me and use it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.