More lovely flowers

I am going to have to make this short as my headache is worse than ever, and I am heading to bed.

So another day of emails, calls and form filling. It would be so much easier to do without a headache. I also did a little bit of work first thing, but then we had a virtual meeting with the funeral directors, and the rest of the day more sorting.

So I will finish with a little bit of dad. One of his favourite times, which he had many stories about, was the war. With his little sister, he was evacuated to his grandparents home in Marlingford, Norfolk. He was 10 and his sister just 8. They were taken by their parents to Liverpool Street station on the bus from Barnet, and then put on a train to Norwich. There, his grandmother collected them and took them out to the village of Marlingford, to the east of Norwich, where they ran the village shop. He had happy memories of the year he spent there, where he went to the village school, and attended the church. Possibly even singing in the church choir.

I’m proud to be one quarter Norfolkian, now having returned to live in the county. Dad loved the countryside, and I’m sure if things had been different, could quite happily have been a country mouse!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.