Mum

Mum is so strong, I know dad would be so proud of her. In fact I've no doubt he is so proud of all of 'his girls' today. We have worked tirelessly from early morning, (I guess none of us slept well) until a short time ago when Manda went home. We want to give him the the send off he deserves, and to make sure we have covered everything. Phone calls to so many people. Mum called close friends and family. Manda the funeral directors, and I've been contacting medical and some financial places. Still lots to do. We want it to be right.

So before starting our mammoth day of communicating with the world, I got up and went for my week 3 day 1 run. That done I joined Mum and Manda for a cup of tea and a plan for the day.

This beautiful flower arrangement arrived mid afternoon, and mum was bowled over with the sentiment wrapped within this kind gift.

My headache is just indescribable so after an afternoon into the evening of sorting and filing paperwork, I am going to bed with my Tombland novel. Wishing I could get a hug from Jon who I haven't seen since Wednesday morning. Saturday hopefully.

Thank you EVERYONE for the kind messages we all received yesterday. I speak for Mum, Manda and I, when I say that we have been touched by the kindness and genuine love expressed to us, and for dad. He really was a gentleman who is going to be sorely missed by all of us. In the days to come, I'd like to document and share with you some of his 91 years, so that if you didn't know him, you can get an idea of what a truly amazing man he was. I don't think you realise quite how much someone means to you, until they have gone. I hope he knew how much I loved him.

I think he did.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.