Old pantry meets new pantry

There is no competition, and my lovely old cooks cabinet is gradually being denuded of its contents. This is the tall cupboard that the others in the family particularly wanted in the kitchen. And although I thought I had come to terms with nans cooks cabinet finally becoming kitchen redundant, I still feel a bit sad for it. I'll feel better when the cabinet has been renovated a bit, and becomes a new sewing and craft cupboard. Over its life time - it will be 95 years old next July - I have painted it inside cleaned it inside and moved the shelves about. All multiple times. The back has been nailed back on so many times it now needs a new back. I'm hopeful it's a job for next summer. Or sooner if poss. I'd love it to go to The Repair Shop, but no doubt they are inundated. Plus I don't have a decent sob story to go with it. It really is still my favourite piece of furniture and I'll use it for one thing or another, until I die.

Work was OK, but cold. The limited heating I've got on hadn't worked. The boiler had tripped and mums house was very cold. But I had the big blanket, hat, hot water bottle and warm slippers, so kept going. It still isn't ideal, and I still don't want to work like this for another 4 plus years. Jon rang a few plumbers about the problem with our own heating. At last he found a plumber who was helpful and able immediately to identify our problem. Its in the boiler - the new boiler - and he suggested we go back to the supplier. I'm guessing it's something that isn't going to get fixed until the new year now. I hope that the boiler misfunctioning is what is causing our colossal electricity bills. That means if it gets fixed the bill will come down. Its the second December when our bill has been over £400 for just one month!! Its with Jon to sort out.

I've had my Friday g&t. I couldn't find the measure and think I may have poured a double....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.