Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Gilding the Lily??

Today began sedately with a bit of local shopping, then wrapping and posting the last of the Christmas parcels. All quiet on the Home Front.

I had something to pick up from M&S in Gala, so we drove over there after lunch. It was much busier than Jed, but we succumbed to a few Christmas treats ( chocolate eclairs !!).

Then Ali and Hal FaceTimed, and while I was absorbed in chat with them, TM sneakily drove to Hawick and announced he was going into Morrisons in search of this year's Which? Best Buy in the champagne section. 

I thought I'd best go in too, though two supermarkets in one afternoon is well outside my comfort zone. But all was well, it was quiet, and he found what he was looking for. Just the two bottles purchased (he's got more on order) ...... 

I thought I might buy a poinsettia - the best one I ever had came from Morries - but they were looking a bit frail. And besides, how many air miles have they travelled to die in our dark winters .... (Possibly they grow them here, I don't know).

My eyes turned to the lilies - lilies the likes of which I've never seen.  They are dyed, apparently.

I'll be sticking to the white ones. But I'm grateful for the Blip opportunity. Thanks, BikerBear for keeping us on the lookout for a flower to snap in the darkest week of the year.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.