A time for everything

By turnx3

Hairy woodpecker?

Friday
We had some freezing rain overnight, but fortunately the temperature soon rose above freezing once it was daylight, and it soon began to melt. Yesterday I was thinking it was quite surprising that the levels in the bird feeders hadn't gone down a great deal since Sunday when I filled them. However, this morning it was a full house at the feeders much of the time, with squabbling starlings, finches, cardinals, tufted titmice, chickadees bluejays,red-bellied and hairy woodpeckers and a number of little birds foraging on the ground, dark with a white belly which I believe may have been dark-eyed juncos, but I'm not sure. The light wasn't very good and I was shooting through the glass, so this was the best shot I got. I believe I'm right in my identification - I hadn't realized until today when I was checking the ID online, how similar the downy and the hairy woodpeckers are.
They had forecast some clearing later in the day but it didn't really happen. Later in the morning, I headed to the "Y" to swim, and soon after I got back, Roger returned from his business trip to Durham, North Carolina. In the afternoon, he spoke with his parents and we skyped with Laura, then we both got a few jobs done before going out to eat this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.