Sankta Lucia

Although I am not Swedish I have come to love all things Swedish after several visits there. My maternal grandmother was Swedish so maybe it’s in my genes somehow!

So today (posted late, as usual!) is Lucia Day - Sankta Lucia. Always December 13th. I hope that one day I can BE in Sweden for this special day. Because of the current restrictions they were not able to celebrate it as they normally would which would involve many people gathered in one place. But Sweden had the wisdom to make a very special film already last month before tighter restrictions came into place. It was shown on television this morning and is available to watch all over the world for 6 months! So I got to watch the whole thing in its entirety. Along with candles and a saffron bun (very traditional on this day. Thank you, IKEA!!).

Click on the link for more information on Lucia Day.

You can watch the broadcast here.

And make sure you check out this wonderful blip from my very good friends in Sweden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.