Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2184. Hot Chocolate

Not really much time for photos today.  Housework this morning then out to a wee cafe to meet up my youngest step daughter to hand over her Christmas gifts.  This is the only way we can do this now, so we met right on the border between our two councils which was perfect so neither of us really breached the lockdown rules.  We haven't seen her for weeks and it could be another couple of months before we are allowed to see her again.  It's going to be over a year to me seeing my eldest and spoke to them on FaceTime this morning.  It's going to be hard and getting harder as each week passes but there is a light at the end of the tunnel if we can keep going until everyone who can be, is vaccinated.

I haven't had a hot chocolate with all the trimmings for years and as it was such a cold miserable day, I thought why not.  I then had pasta with chicken and chorizo with a tomato and herb sauce and it was delicious.

After all of the announcements yesterday I woke up feeling a real sense of forboding but seeing my youngest step daughter has helped, as did FaceTiming my eldest....I miss them so much.  I spoke to my youngest on the phone and he has a 10 hour shift today, finishing at 10pm then the same tomorrow and Tuesday but he has Wednesday off so I think a lunch out with him will be on the cards.  On Christmas Eve we are meeting up with my middle step daughter at a cafe to hand over their Christmas gifts and will see my eldest step daughter on Boxing Day when we go out for a walk.  No indoor mixing for us this year apart from my youngest who is in our support bubble so he will spend Christmas Day with us.  It is the strangest Christmas ever and once we can all safely meet up again we will have our Christmas lunch all together and do our Secret Santas then!  I do hope that these restrictions actually work this time and that people do the right thing, rising numbers, even in Scotland, where numbers have been much lower than the rest of the UK, do show that in some areas people are just doing what they want and we're all paying for it now.  I very much doubt that we will see major changes until the middle of 2021....here's hoping that everyone stays safe....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.