Capital adventures

By marchmont

Bread

The day did not end as it started.

But back to the start.  Being a Saturday no swimming so I didn't have to get up too early.  Willow had joined me - she quite likes my bed.  The bread had overflowed the top of the tin a bit but is really looking good and also tastes pretty good. 

The Christmas was arriving today so I couldn't go out but it was early afternoon before I got the text that gave the arrival time.  I had a quick trip to the post box in the morning when i remembered that the N's birthday card had to be posted to arrive before Christmas.  His birthday is 27th. Back home I sent off the email Christmas greetings, mainly overseas.  And another go at trying on down Centrica Hive - fail!

The food arrived in a wonderful polystyrene box which will come in very useful.  Realised I've overordered the pheasant but that's not a major problem. The garage freezer is now full.  

Then E came round for the present swap, outside of course. Then off north to the limit of my world, the Manor, Cameron Toll and then to J's to have another go and dehumidifying. I arrived as the PM was annnouncing that the Christmas truce is cancelled.  Well that was to be expected.  By the time I got home Scotland was preparing to go back to where we were in the spring and with even more limits on travel.  The pool will close. And I have to confess one of my first thoughts was the hair appointment.  I went about 4 months uncoiffed during the first lockdown and as I'll probably be self isolating and then recovering after this one I felt I had to do something about getting the appointment scheduled for 8 January. Luckily the wonderful J came up trumps and I'll be there on Monday.  

I had a lovely evening though, with the livestream of Christmas Tales from the Lyceum.  Very well presented and enjoyable.

Willow scarpered out the front door when I went out.  She hadn't returned by bedtime.  I had a look outside and there she was consorting with a much bigger cat.  Looked like they were off for an explore together.

F2F - 2
Phone calls - 3
Virtual - 1

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.