Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A bright day

I think there were many people waking up this morning realising that this was going to be a very miserable Christmas. When I first heard about this virus in China back in January I never for one moment thought it would still be playing havoc with our lives by Christmas. There will be many sitting at home on Christmas Day with their plans now cancelled and no Christmas dinner, and it is probably too late to order a turkey at this late stage. 

Anyway, at least today was bright and beautiful, a sunny day with blue skies. It has been very wet so there are puddles everywhere as seen here. The river that runs through the village is about to burst its banks, and as the forecast is for heavy rain all day tomorrow I think that by Tuesday the river will be lapping into the High Street.

Adam had a golf booking today to play with a friend and as golf is still allowed to be played with people from your household or one other person who is not in your household, he expected to play. But the course has been closed due to being so waterlogged so they could not play. Gavin has a booking tomorrow to play with the boys but he is expecting it to be cancelled for the same reason.

I usually go grocery shopping on a Monday morning but I went after lunch today with Gavin, as I am sure this week will be horribly busy. For the first time since about May we had to queue but it was a short queue which moved quickly. I will go again next week to get the Christmas meats order and the vegetables for the dinner.

Meriel sent me a link to a vaccine  calculator that works out when you will be getting the vaccine  depending on your age and conditions. Apparently I will be getting the Covid vaccine between 14/05/21 and 05/06/21- haha, I will believe that when I see it. 

And so it is only 5 more sleeps until Christmas, but no one is feeling jolly or in a festive mood. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.