MONO MONDAY - FESTIVE STILL LIFE IN REDS

All the supermarket advertisements have been telling us to “Shop Early” for our food so that we can stay physically distanced and avoid the rush - so this morning I did just that!

I had set the alarm for 6.15 a.m. and woke at what I thought was about 6 o’clock - however, when I went into the bathroom, I discovered it was only 4.20 a.m. I did go back to sleep but the alarm soon woke me - and Mr. HCB - so we got up and by 6.45 a.m. I was ready to go.  When I got to Aldi, there was a lovely lady dishing out the trolleys and as it was raining quite heavily, she very kindly wiped the handle so that it was dry.

I had a list - but of course, bought more than was on it, but my first sight was a “Sprout mountain” just inside the door, alongside “Carrot” and “Parsnip” mountains - all great value at 14p per bag - it was quite difficult pulling out just one bag without the whole lot sliding  - shades of the old television programme “Candid Camera” came into my mind - but I’m glad to say I managed to get one bag of each without that happening.  Can you imagine the headline in the local newspaper, "Blipper, Mrs. HCB, disappears under a Sprout Mountain"!

There weren’t that many people there, so it was an easy run round.  Just as I was struggling to get some Greek yoghourt from the top shelf, I heard a voice behind me and turned to see a man who was about 6’6” tall asking if he could help me as he did have an advantage over me height wise.  I had managed to get four packs, but asked if he could walk round behind me just in case I needed help!  We both laughed and I kept seeing him as I walked round.

I did see lots of red - and in fact, have made a collage - and put it in as an extra - and of course, you all know, that I had to do some rearranging to get them looking good!  I even had to explain to the lady who watched me pile up the Christmas puddings what I was doing and why - so again, we laughed together and she just said “Good for you!” and went on her way.

I was home just after 8 o’clock and as it was still raining quite hard, and it looked as if it would be along and dreary day, I asked Mr. HCB if he fancied going to Jack’s for a coffee - and of course, I needed to pay for last week’s coffee as well, after walking out without paying!

We had a lovely time and spoke to Gary, the owner, Kieron, our lovely waiter, one of the waitresses and also Margaret, our friend - so we were glad we went.  I saw this Coca Cola lorry on the bar and it just had to be my Blip for today - so here it is - Mono Monday - Festive Still Life in Reds.

When we left Jack’s, we wandered along Wood Street and waved to our friends in Leightons, our opticians - they all came to the door and we had a lovely chat so we told them we missed them - and in fact, I believe that for most of us, we miss the social interaction we have with people during our normal day - and they agreed.

After wishing them all a good Christmas, whatever they did, we walked to the Co-op, where we saw a homeless man sitting outside on a damp blanket on the wet pavement - so we gave him a Christmas gift and hope it brightened his day.  I asked if he took cash, and he said he was collecting so that he could book into a bed and breakfast tonight - we stayed and chatted with him for a while and his smile touched us - but our hearts ache knowing that for him Christmas will just be another day that he has to get through and we pray he will get enough money today so that he can at least have a warm room and bed tonight.

People who brought me joy today:

The lady who wiped my trolley at Aldi and then even came and collected it when I had finished loading the car afterwards.

Seeing everyone at Jack’s - and paying our debts!

Being able to chat to our friends at Leightons - who seemed delighted to see us.

The homeless man outside the Co-op - and being thankful that I had put some money into my purse a few days ago, although most of our payments are made by card.

“Reflect upon your present blessings - 
     of which every man has many - 
          not on your past misfortunes, 
               of which all men have some.”
Charles Dickens

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.