LOOKING FOR DERELICTION

Because of the changing situation with regard to the pandemic, and as we thought this might be the last chance we get to go out looking for dereliction, after our usual Zoom Church service, we went out on the road towards Ogbourne St. George, then turned off on the road to Aldbourne.

We have passed these derelict buildings before;  they were originally part of an egg packing factory, built in 1949 for Wiltshire Poultry Farmers Limited, later Thames Valley Eggs, just outside Aldbourne on the road to Ramsbury.  The building was apparently extended in 1960 but I cannot find any other information about it.  It covers quite a large area but it looks as if it has been derelict for a quite some time.

When we looked at the gate, we could see it was padlocked, but one of the locks wasn’t snapped shut, so you can guess the rest;  however, you will be pleased to know that today I didn’t do any rearranging and we made sure that the gate was exactly as we found it.

It was quite an open site, so I wandered freely, with Mr. HCB keeping a lookout at the gate.  I had to smile at one point, because there was a large notice on one of the walls of a derelict shed that said, “DANGER!  Automatic machinery may start without warning”, but I didn’t think there was any chance of that happening so I didn’t rush but didn’t go in there either.  I wish I could find out more, but an exhaustive search on Mr. Google hasn’t come up with anything - but it did get me a Blip for Derelict Sunday, so I’m happy. 

Things that brought me joy today - and later yesterday:

Seeing our older son, Martyn and his son, Josh, when they called in yesterday - I was able to give him his Graduation Owl and I think he was pleased with it - at least he smiled when I gave it to him - see extra.  It was also good to see our granddaughter, Charlotte and we all adhered to the physically distancing rules - but we're not sure when we will see them again.

Being out in the beautiful Wiltshire countryside this afternoon in the sunshine with a lovely blue sky.

Having a quick, physically distanced visit from my sister, Karen and her daughter, Jolene - and again, not knowing when we will see them again.

“There’s only one thing more precious 
     than our time and
          that’s who we spend it on.” 
Leo Christopher

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.