MONO MONDAY - RHYMES WITH "BLESS"

Having looked up the times of opening at a nearby Tesco store last night, I decided to get up early and do the last bits of Christmas shopping so I left the house just before 6 o’clock.  I was really surprised at how many cars were on the road and how busy it was in the store, not only with Tesco people “picking” orders to be delivered or “clicked and collected” but with early morning customers. We obviously all had the same idea!

Shopping done, I had another surprise when I left the store at about 7.15 to find it was still dark. Of course I would normally still be asleep at that time but at least our lovely neighbours got their morning paper very early today.

Once home, I made myself a cup of coffee and a bowl of porridge and sat chatting to Mr. HCB before looking at the theme for today’s MM Blip - and saw that it was something that rhymed with “Bless”.  Of course, we both went through the alphabet, coming up with “mess, dress, stress, cress, press” and a few others.  I did suggest that Mr. HCB lie down on the lounge carpet and I would take a shot of him and call it “de-stress” but he said he wasn’t paid enough to do that sort of thing!

In the end, I went with “Guess” and as I thought it would be good to keep a festive theme, decided to use the Carol singers made for us by Lorraine, a lovely friend, a couple of years ago.  I did try and read the words on the music the Carol Singers were holding, but they are so small and my eyesight isn’t that good, and as I can’t read music, I will just guess that they are singing, “We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy and Healthy New Year” because that is what Mr. HCB and I wish you all.  

You might be interested to know that the “Angel” card behind the Carol Singers was sent to us about 35 years ago by a lovely friend, who died a couple of months after the Christmas she sent this to us - we remember her often, but particularly at Christmas when I get this card out to go with our Nativity set and the Carol Singers.  Like many of you, we have so many memories of different family and friends, and it is good to remember.

I hope that you will all have a good week and stay safe and well - we do have a couple of appointments this week, but will be extra careful and we know the places we are going to have done all the necessary things to keep us safe.  

I thought I would share my “favourite new Carol” for this Christmas - although I see from the music that it was written in 2017.  It’s beautiful so I hope you enjoy listening to it - there are other versions, but I rather liked this one, obviously to be sung by a choir - Somewhere In Your Silent Night.

Advent Haiku
Heavenly hosts sing
With help from Carol singers
Guess which song they sing?
Mrs HCB

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.