DERELICT SUNDAY

When we went out on Friday, we passed a small industrial estate on the road between Swindon and Faringdon and happened to see this derelict farmhouse building.  The road was quite busy and although the gate to the industrial estate was open,  we didn’t go in, but both decided that we would come back some other time for two reasons - firstly, that I had already done my Blip for the day and secondly, because of the ethos of Blip, the photograph has to be taken ON the day and I admit to being a stickler for this rule!

We watched the Nativity play from Church on our television this morning - and having treated myself to an Amazon Firestick, we were able to see it on the “big screen”, which was great - and all the children did so well.  Praise must go not only to them, but also to those who put in so much time teaching the children and young people in the weeks leading up to Christmas.  

After Church, we decided, although it was quite foggy, to go out for a drive and Mr. HCB decided that it might be a good idea to visit the industrial estate again.  The gate was shut this time though, so I had to crawl underneath - not that it was difficult because it was a high gate - just in case any of you are wondering if I had to do some limbo dancing at the side of a busy main road!

After wandering around the yard - and I didn’t see any CCTV cameras - I went through another gate and found this fire-damaged derelict building - what a find for Derelict Sunday!  I took several shots and when I got back to the car, we decided to come on home, as the fog was still quite thick and it wasn’t much fun for Mr. HCB to be driving around.

I then set to work to find out more about the building - it was named in the local press as Chowle Farmhouse and at one point was a Bed and Breakfast establishment, but in February 2019, someone - persons unknown - set fire to it.  I found out from a local newspaper that in August 2018, “Police Officers swooped on the location at Chowle Farm, Great Coxwell, and found the end of a cannabis factory, which the Police said was to be seized and destroyed.  During the operation the Police also discovered and seized two confirmed stolen vehicles, one stolen caravan and numerous barrels of suspected stolen red diesel.”  Quite a haul!

By the look of the property, no-one will be living there again - and no doubt it will eventually be demolished, but it was interesting to find out its history.

We are now safely home and I am just about to have a chat with a Blip friend.  Stay safe, everyone - and I hope you all have a good week leading up to Christmas Day.

Advent Haiku
In a week’s time the
retail focus will shift from
Christmas to Easter.
Kathryn Epps

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.