dfb24

By dfb24

Three Generations...

...of Christmas ornaments, with red as the mono color--the theme for MonoMonday. The two rather beat up looking ornaments are made of glass, and at one time they were both solid red, but over the years much of the color has worn off of them. They belonged to my grandmother, and my dad used to say they'd hung on their tree for as long as he could remember, so they have to be close to 100 years old. I remember them hanging on her tree as well. I have about 8 more that belonged to her (in much better condition), but they weren't red so I didn't include them. The tree in the middle was one of my mom's, and always hung on our tree when we were growing up. This one is red, but there were also blue and green ones. After my mom died, my brother asked us all if we wanted any of the ornaments, and divided them up among the three of us that said we'd like some of them. I don't put my grandma's ornaments on our tree anymore, as they're pretty fragile, so I put them in a glass container in the middle of our dining room table so that we can admire them without them being in danger of falling off the tree. The two hearts are mine, and are part of a series of 6 that Hallmark put out in the past. Each heart opens up and has a different scene inside of them; they're some of my favorites. Thanks to Carolinav for hosting MM this month, & hope you're all having a great start to the week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.