A day in the life

By Shelling

Solstice

Today was the shortest day of a most unusual year. Much has happened anyway, like news from England and Denmark about a mutation of the virus that might prolong the pandemic and has led to restrictions in travelling to and from these countries. I've finished a reconstruction of a live concert for a friend, who found a long forgotten recording on a mini-disc  in a drawer, with a concert he played in 2002. Also I transcribed and learned how to play a song I previously failed to master, because I was using the wrong tuning for my instrument. 

My old landlord came by on an unexpected visit, bringing some very nice coffee bread and chocolates made by his wife. I'm so happy he still wants to visit even though it's not his farm anymore. We chatted for a while about the work he is doing as a maths teacher in corona times. He's not very fond of distance teaching, being a much more hands on person. Also he's over 75 years old and not very fond of using computers. We wished each other a merry Christmas and I hope to see them again next year.

Jogging was done, the first in a couple of weeks and it feels so good once  it's over. I did some washing and at the same time reviewed a cd recording for the same friend that asked me to restore the concert for him. He plays the cello and has appeared on a (very good) record of some swedish folk music from this area. After some phone calls it was all dark and time for a snack. The shortest day is over. My extra shows how high the sun was around two o'clock at my jog. There was a half hour period of almost clearing up but the whole day has otherwise resembled the grey blanket.

In my small world I have a long time ago decided to spend my Christmas on my own. Certainly not because I want to, more that there is no real alternative. I often feel like the swan I saw in The Pond, during my jog. Usually there's two or more of them but this one was alone. Yesterday someone asked me how I will spend Christmas and I said I will eat good food and drink tasty drinks in front of the (black) window so I can toast with myself. I kind of saw the image of my scene in that swan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.