pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Brutish

I have gone for some brutalism for today’s blip. 

Oppressive, uninspiring and foreboding, but yet somehow a little light still shines through. Pretty much sums up the day perfectly!

I have the radio on during the day, mainly just to avoid sitting in silence, but I do like to hear the news and keep up to speed with what is going on as it will invariably affect my customers and their businesses. There is a strange disconnect from what comes over the airwaves (death, carnage, chaos all around etc.) to the reality of the place where I live.

My daily perambulation revealing none of the bracketed negativity above, but instead a town bustling with people getting their last-minute Christmas shopping done. Maybe us Tier 2 inhabitants don’t know how good we’ve got it at present?

Wandering along and lost in my own thoughts (“if I were Iron Man what modifications would I make to my suit?”), I was snapped from my Marvel reverie by a little lad walking by with his father and yelling a very cute “Merry Christmas to you!” at me. I grinned and offered the same back to him, looking at the Dad and him smiling whilst shaking his head told me that I was not the first to have experienced the little fella’s Christmas cheer.

Not ready to go back home, I squelched my way downstream hoping for a chance encounter with a kingfisher, but instead saw a dipper going about its own fishing exercise. For a bird so bulbous it is remarkably elegant on its diving expeditions.

Last day of work tomorrow before the children return and I can enjoy a run of seven glorious days off.

Thanks all for the recent hearts, comments and likes – you are blummin’ awesome!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.