pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Just enjoy the show

Today was a vast improvement on yesterday as the post-booster nausea and fatigue made way for the normal bouts of nausea and fatigue.

I’ve had my head down in a rare case of working hard to clear a backlog (and even get ahead) in advance of the Christmas holiday and I may just get away “clean” when I sign-off tomorrow in time for the offspring to return to me for a couple of nights.

Can’t remember a time when I needed a breather from work more.

Tired of being cooped-up, I headed out to do a bit of recce of any places which may be left open in Kendal and would be accepting of my lot for dinner tomorrow night. Tempted to take them for an Indian…in the meantime, the church (so unbelievably wide) was looking pretty with the trees outside the evening and I thought I would try and narrow the field. I was also trying to capture my shadow on the building, but nearly burnt my bum on the light.

Finished watching Moneyball again, which if you’ve never seen it is a really great film featuring a couple of lovely understated performances from Brad Pitt and Jonah Hill. I mention this not just to get my Barry Norman on, but because there is a lovely song in it (performed by Kerris Dorsey playing Brad Pitt’s daughter and used at a metaphorical crossroads) the lyrics to which just leapt out:- 

“I'm just a little bit caught in the middle
Life is a maze, and love is a riddle
I don't know where to go
Can't do it alone
I've tried, 

and I don't know why

Slow it down, make it stop
Or else my heart is going to pop
Cause it’s too much, yeah it’s a lot
To be something I'm not…”


And then there’s a bit about being a little girl which I struggle to identify with…

On a similar note, Pedros enquired recently about photographic evidence of my past damehood, so I’ve bunged one in the extras from pre-pandemic 2020 when I was Widow Twanky in Aladdin (the last time I trod the boards). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.