Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2186. Christmas Tree Decoration

We bought this decoration in Denmark at a flea market a few years ago....it was one of two Georg Jensen ones which I bought that a lovely seller had on her stall.  In fact she had dozens of them and to be honest I wanted them all!

Our tree reflects our travels as we often buy a new decoration from wherever we have been during the year, whether it’s the UK or further afield.  As we haven’t left the UK or indeed been to many places in the UK, since January this year we don’t have any new ones on our tree for this year.

In fact the last one we bought was in Russia in September 2019...

Popped into our local Home Bargains to buy some table gifts for the three of us for Christmas Day and managed to buy a large chocolate letter “Y” for myself (as no-one else would think to buy my table gift!), some smarties for our youngest (who is with us on Christmas Day) and something extremely practical for my hubby...some...tablets for his car to put in his screen washer tank to stop the water from freezing!  We don’t do Christmas crackers any more as far too much waste so I re-use gift bags and wrap something up to open at the table instead.  We have felt Santa hats that I always have to repair or sew bells back on every year!

Had a bit of a battle last night with a web site called Fold 3 which is part of Ancestry about them taking money out of my bank account to renew a membership I had already cancelled after the free trial.  They proved almost impossible to contact via email, social media or messaging so I finally took to Social Media myself to complain about their practices publicly.  Well that worked and I got a grovelling message at about midnight last night from them saying that they would process my refund and that I would get an email.  It also turned out that I have two accounts with them with two different email addresses and they accidentally renewed the old one instead of cancelling the 7 day free trial I set up with a new account.  Hopefully they will sort it out soon as them taking £40 from my account wasn’t ok.  We were also contacted via text by Jet2 about our cancelled flights as they couldn’t refund us on the card without speaking to us as we had booked these flights more than a year ago.  Five minutes later after phoning them it was all sorted, they really have shown other airlines how to behave during this pandemic.

Out for lunch with my youngest and a friend tomorrow and we were hoping to try a new Japanese Restaurant in town so I’ve messaged them about my son’s severe peanut allergy  to see if they are able to accommodate him..will wait and see and if not we will find somewhere else to eat.

I haven’t had much time to see and comment on journals but I will eventually catch up...thanks as always for the stars, hearts and comments on mine!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.