curns' corner

By curns

In Sea affairs, nothing is impossible, and nothing

We did another local history walk today. Just down the road from where we live is the land on which Merton Place stood. Reportedly the only house that Admiral Nelson owned and actually lived in. According to one report I read the property had to be "close to the Admiralty and within easy reach of Portsmouth".  There's nothing left now of the house but all around the area are places, properties and roads named after connection to the Admiral. 

One of those places is the Nelson Arms (this picture) and I love the look of this pub - sadly it was not open as we walked around the area.  These local walks have been a great help in forcing us out of the front door and getting some exercise while all the pandemic restrictions have been in place. 

The lockdowns are hard for us all. Now, it's been seven years since I posted regularly to Blipfoto but I've been reading how writing some kind of journal - any kind - can help with the stresses of the current world and, at the same time, I though this picture is worthy of sharing. So, maybe, taking inspiration from the 'nothing is impossible' mantra, I can start a new habit here and why not start with a picture of a pub? Interestingly, PY and I nearly bought a house open Nelson Road back in 2013, the year of my last entry here, so there is a circle being connected.

I am a big fan of '1-second everyday' and there is a discipline to creating a small amount of video everyday but that's not the same as taking some time to think about and compose some words. So, I'm planning to give this a go through December: trying to capture something everyday that I can also write about. I'll do a few posts in November to try to kick-start the habit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.