Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

In case you did not realise...

it is two days to Christmas and it's about now that men start doing their Christmas shopping!

It has been horribly wet all day. A very wet and muddy walk with Xena in the woods, she doesn't like the rain but enjoyed running around and playing with other dogs.

Then Gavin, Luke and Adam went off to play golf again and I went back to the optician for a re-test as I have been having problems seeing clearly with my new varifocals. It seems that my prescription is right but was told that one has to compromise when using varifocals and the visibility will never be as good as if I was only using single lens glasses. There is a difference in what I see with the varifocal lenses compared to my vision with the single lens as per the test. I think I prefer single lens glasses, but now I have these new expensive varifocals I have to just get on with it. 

Good news and bad news today. Good that they have opened the border with France and the trucks can get moving again. I am very impressed with the charities who have been taking food and drinks to the lorry drivers stuck in Kent, some coming from 150 miles away to bring them food. Bad news that more of the country has gone into Tier 4, but the Covid cases seem to be increasing at such a rate it is a necessary thing to do. Bad news about the new Covid variant found in the UK that was brought here from South Africa, so understandably a total ban on travel to and from SA at the moment. Bad news about the little girl under one years of age who died of Covid in Scotland, the youngest death so far. Good news that the Oxford / Astra Zeneca vaccine could possibly be given the go ahead by the regulators and be ready soon after Christmas. And does Tony have a point? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.