Fly, stick and Blencathra

An interesting day...
My supervisor and I thought it would be much nicer to meet at mine rather than at the office so we were able to have our meeting by the fire with coffees and mince pies. Definitely the way to do a Christmas Eve meeting. We were also under the overarching supervisory eye of Fly who felt it was important to have a quick 10 minute walk along the path to look at the snow on Blencathra, and have a pee, of course. We agreed; although abstained from the latter.

Although my supervisor knew about the Veneerings he has never had the joy of witnessing the show which started nice and early, shortly after he arrived around 9ish. There was a warm up going on intermittently as we worked but we managed to carry on, marginally distracted. It picked up after the intermission but I missed the finale when she punched him in the mouth but my supervisor saw it as he was by the window and we were doing the distance thing. Emboldened by having someone else around I decided to go out with mask on to have a word but I missed the moment and they had had their final flourish and retreated back inside, to lick wounds presumably.

We finished off at lunchtime and my supervisor went off understandably thinking i lived somewhere between Royston Vasey and Father Ted, the intersection of Eastenders and Emmerdale, with a few other dark dramas thrown in.

When I finished for the day I went for a quick walk and Mr Veneering saw me on my way back and gave a cheery hello. It’s the incongruence that does me so I said hello and that it just wasn’t good enough.

Oh well. I’m now happily ensconced and have had a lovely after work Christmas Eve drink zoom meeting with Callum and Holly https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2320335257317934239 and have tucked into treats.

Seasons Greetings to one and all x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.