... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

TAP Coffee: 114

This is what a cappuccino ought to look like... (Drink, not photography)

I visited the Wellcome Collection with a friend this afternoon to take in the "Death: A self-portrait" exhibition. It was quite interesting, but not as varied as I'd hoped it would be. It was also very busy as tomorrow is its last day... I'm glad I saw it before it finished as I always would have wondered had I not made it.

More exciting, though, was going for coffee afterwards at 114 Tottenham Court Road. It just says 114 above the door, but is one of the three TAP Coffee cafés (Tapped & Packed Coffee). This is the second time I've visited the café, and both coffees have been noteworthy: last time I had a delicious ristretto (short espresso) which was wonderfully complex but not overwhelming (and served with a shot of oolong tea on the side as a palette cleanser!), and this time was a silky smooth cappuccino adorned with this beautiful "latte art". The milk was a perfect microfoam, and didn't suffer from the clearly defined layers (thin layer of airy foam then milky coffee) that a less well-made cappuccino usually features.

I was going to blip a pochard (especially for Lady Marchmont), but only the female was around when I visited Mount Pond (v. briefly) this afternoon, and it was too grey to get an interesting picture of a grey-bodied bird out on very grey-looking water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.