... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

CCC: Chapel Pelican

See the pelicanlings in large ("L").

I took this picture as a possible image for next term's chapel card: the chaplain asked whether I'd photograph one of the college's pelicans (it is our symbol, so there are quite a few dotted around the place...). The pelican symbolised Corpus Christi College since the pelican (apocryphally) plucked its breast feathers to feed its young the blood; the parallel with Jesus offering his blood to his followers is just about there I suppose.
I'm quite tickled by our pelicans: I'm told (repeatedly) that they're pelicans anyway! Between them they have almost a complete set of pelican anatomy, but none of them individually have anything approaching the complete set. Some have pelican-esque feet but goose-like beaks, whereas others have more pelican-esque facial features but eagle-type feet... This one is way off, and why are such tiny pelicanlings feathery!? *Sigh* If you can't trust religious symbols for accuracy, what can you trust...?

I've put up two alternatives: I believe that it is a portrait format that is needed so I've put up this one which has slightly different light (less flash, more natural light), and this one which is landscape, but I'm uploading it because I prefer it to the portrait ones...
Any feedback would be much appreciated! What do you think of the light; do they look over-processed?

p.s. They were all taken with the macro lens, with the camera and flash mounted on the tripod (long exposure times in the dim chapel, and I was experimenting with different amounts of flash and natural light). The chapel isn't totally symmetrical, so perfect symmetry (e.g. crown aligned with roof) simply wasn't possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.