... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

CCC: Blue Tit Singing

More adorable (and detailed) in large ("L").

I had a lovely photo session in the garden this morning: I saw chaffinches, blue tits, great tits, the wren, and the other usual suspects (blackbirds, magpies, pigeons...).
I've uploaded another shot of this blue tit (perching quietly), and also a very close-up shot of the male blackbird (with the garden reflected in his eye).

I had a extremely enjoyable evening yesterday: I went to see Ian Bostridge (tenor), Elizabeth Kenny (lute), and Fretwork (a consort of viols) performing music by John Dowland (16th/17th Century English composer) at the Sheldonian Theatre. It was a superb concert: he's my favourite tenor (esp. singing Schubert), and he sang the songs with characteristic, um, character and sensitivity, and was accompanied very well by the viols and lute, who played beautifully in the instrumental sections too.
Dowland is not a composer that I know (although I recognised two of the songs: "Flow my tears" and "Come again, sweet love doth now"; those are videos of the same musicians performing the pieces for the Proms). It is all quite low in his range, but he brought a surprisingly deep, brown tone to the performance. The viols had such a rich resonance, and sounded/felt as though they were breathing together... That's all shown quite well in the YouTube video "Flow my tears", although I think that his intonation was a rather better at our concert last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.