A busy day

Started early as I wanted to go get a few last bits from the co-op it was quiet, still no mincemeat, then we took the dogs for a walk, it was bitterly cold. On the way back we passed a Sainsburys local corner shop and Paula said try there for some Mincemeat and lo and behold they had some.
After lunch I started the trifle, blanched and froze some broccoli, made mince tarts and a jam roll for tea to have with custard. 
Then I did the butter cream for the carrot cake and decorated it (thats our christmas cake) but my scales suddenly did a wobbly when I was weighing the icing sugar etc, I thought it was the battery but no it wasn't they have gone. What to do? then I remembered a year or two ago Paula got a little pair of scales for slimmers I dug them out, they only go up to a 1lb or 500 grams but they did for what I wanted..
I made the custard for the trifle will put cream on and mandarins tomorrow.
  I made a chicken casserole for tea, and then I was shattered. I never seem to have stopped except for lunch.

All done now so bedtime shortly or Santa won't come lol.

Have a lovely Christmas Day everyone even though it will be a bit different for some of us we will endeavour to enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.