Christmas Day walk

Lovely to be able to have a Christmas Day walk. Only managed 3.5 miles as we had to be back to rescue the turkey (first time I've left the oven on cooking and then left the house for an hour or so!) Decided to do a big hill climb and then found an unfamiliar path which I think took us through Frith Wood. 

The canal/ river area at the bottom of the valley was badly flooded with 
some cars unable to pass the road and having to turn back. This lovely round house looks to be battling with the water once again, rivers of water were pouring out of the gaps in the cotswold stone wall to the rear. I do hope the owner is staying somewhere else today.

Felt lucky to be able to walk in the sunshine plus the frosty leaves and slight nip in the air felt appropriate for Christmas. 

Once home MrH basted the turkey with some kind of homemade herbal butter mix (half an hour late but I'm sure it will be absolutely fine- it may even be an improvement on the original recipe maybe?)

We exchanged gifts and everyone seemed happy and relaxed. I got an unexpected pair of slippers which are handmade and super cosy, a book on megalithic stones (I'll get very distracted by that!), a pima cotton winter nightdress (something I've wanted for a long time), a yoga blanket and a cork (very heavy!!!) yoga brick. I feel quite spoiled as I love all my gifts and they will all be used lots.

It's very weird not spending Christmas or the following day with any of my own family or friends. I'm glad my parents are spending the day together though and I'm sure I'll see my brother before summer (fingers crossed). I think it's going to be about a year since I saw them and I've not seen my best mate since early 2020- hey ho.

MrH has really thrown himself into the cooking and the prep this year, I guess he is keen to make it as memorable as possible. MrH's brother stayed over last night (he is in our support bubble) and he'll be having Christmas food with us shortly.

I may add some extra photos if things look colourful with the food. My edited alternative of this is in extras.

My afternoon meal was fab. Caught up with my folks on a video call. 

MrH and his brother watched a film called Tenet tonight which I lost interest in after about 10 minutes. I hear its a good film and goes backwards and forward in time but I wasn't in the mood to give it time so I just chilled!

Happy Christmas fellow Blippers. I hope you have a lovely day, however you end up spending it. Make the most! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.