pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Gifted

The children had been returned to their mothers and in their wake, a colourful trail of devastation and destruction as I walked through my silent home this evening.

Games dominated table tops, craft-y stuff owned the floor and all items of furniture had long since given up the fight to fall under the rule of a small army of toys and stocking fillers.

I didn’t tidy it. Why would anyone want to tidy away the remnants reminding them of a few precious perfect hours on Christmas Day?

Instead, I changed into the Christmas Penguin pyjamas gifted to me by my mother and watched a film gifted to me by the wee ones, whilst eating some of the sweets (see extra) creatively gifted to me by The Eldest.

Though I was alone for the first time on a Christmas Day night, I thanked my lucky stars for my embarrassment of blessings, but of course, three in particular.

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas!

D.

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.