pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Christmas: Phase One

I can’t be certain if I have had the Christmas Day I was expecting or planned, but it was certainly the one I needed.

With The Eldest adamant that she would keep me company on Christmas, that gave me enough cause to get some decent food in and we began our day with smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on toast. Some video calls with the parents and the wee ones followed before some nice presents got unwrapped and then we both felt like taking a walk for some fresh air whilst dinner (roast gammon) cooked in th’oven.

Even dinner I got right and even managed to sneak some vegetables onto the plate!

In between times we have been happy chilling out, chatting and watching each of the new(er) Star Wars films in succession. It has been absolutely lovely and, after a slightly tumultuous period in our relationship, maybe exactly what we both needed.

She held me very close when I dropped her off this evening, which I think helped me when I came back to an empty home. I didn’t feel sad or low, I was happy and relaxed after a nice peaceful day and excited to start preparation for Christmas: Phase Deux. First thing tomorrow, I’ll collect the wee ones and we’ll be off down to Essex to see the family – can’t wait!

I hope that you and yours have had a nice Christmas Day too and if for some reason you find yourself on your own today, please accept a big hug from me.

Merry Christmas! 

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.