pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Christmas Day

I heard the first murmurings from them around 3am when m’boy flushed the toilet right above my head.

Shortly thereafter, The Youngest caught me in a toilet flush pincer movement as hers went off from the room adjacent to mine.

I was conscious of some moving about and lightly dozed until it was time to get up and tear into their stockings, which I had been able to fill last night without waking them. I think that may have been the last time I’ll do that with them still believing in Father Christmas…

Despite my nephew being under the weather with a streaming cold and the three wee ones being absolutely exhausted from waking up so early, it has been a lovely, calm Christmas Day complete with the requisite turkey dinner in the middle of it.

The children seem to have loved their presents, and as far as I can tell they’ve been into everything and been incredibly grateful for what they have received.

I must confess that it was not without a little relief that the wee ones finally collapsed into bed this evening - somehow they stayed awake through the Strictly and The Wheel Christmas specials!

Not looking forward to the drive home, but it’s been a lovely Christmas and I’m grateful for having so much time with the family.

Merry Christmas! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.